The Diverse Books Tag

Hey guys! Today I am going to be doing the Diverse Books Tag for which I was tagged by the lovely, Olivia @ Libro Liv. Thank you so much for tagging me! You guys should definitely check out her blog since it is awesome ❤

So let’s get on with the tag, shall we?

THE RULES

  1. Credit the original creator, Read Diverse Books.
  2. The Diverse Books Tag is a bit like a scavenger hunt. I will task you to find a book that fits a specific criteria and you will have to show us a book you have read or want to read.
  3. If you can’t think of a book that fits the specific category, then I encourage you to go look for one. A quick Google search will provide you with many books that will fit the bill. (Also, Goodreads lists are your friends.) Find one you are genuinely interested in reading and move on to the next category.

THE QUESTIONS

1. Find a book starring a lesbian character.
unnamed

As I Descended by Robin Talley

I realized as I saw this question that I haven’t really read many books which revolve around a lesbian character! I have read multiple books about gay and bisexual teenagers but hardly ever one with a lesbian. I haven’t read this book but I am really interested in it. I have subscribed to Epic Read’s First5 which sends you the first five chapters of a new book every week so that you might find something that interests you. I found this on there! I really hope I like the book as much as I liked the first five chapters of it 🙂

2. Find a book with a Muslim protagonist. 

81cG5HgkS7L._SL1344_.jpg

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

I think that this is the only one of John Green’s book which I haven’t read. I know for a fact that it does have a Muslim character, just not sure if he/she is the protagonist. This just adds on to the reasons of why I want to read this book. I have also read the autobiography of Malala. I am pretty sure you have heard of her; the book was very inspiring and motivational, especially for young girls.

 

3. Find a book set in Latin America.

13455112

 

Origin by Jessica Khoury

I have heard a lot about this book, personally. It is set in Brazil, technically the Amazon. The synopsis sounds so cool, and I really want to read it. Also, could we just take a moment and appreciate that beautiful cover. I love a little greenery or flowers on a book and it just looks very nice overall.

 

 

4. Find a book about a person with disability. 

All_the_Light_We_Cannot_See_(Doerr_novel)

 

All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

This book revolves around two characters. One of them is a young girl who is blind, whose father makes a model of the entire city so that his daughter could get to know what the city at least feels like. This book is set during the World War II and I absolutely loved it. It was a very emotional and informative read and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who is interested in historical fiction. Even if you are not, it is a very moving read.

 

5. Find a science-fiction or fantasy book with a POC (person of color) protagonist.

12971616

 

The Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore

This is the third book in the Lorien Legacies series by Pittacus Lore, a series which I have loved and enjoyed very much. I can say that this is one of the most diverse series out there, I mean, it even has alien races. There is no particular protagonist but I am not going to spoil anything. All I am going to say is, that there is a POC main character in this book and that is one of the many reasons why you should read this series!

 

6. Find a book set in/ about any country in Africa. 

7090447.jpg

 

The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan

So I am pretty sure you have heard about this series. It is called the Kane chronicles and it revolves around Egyptian mythology. If you are familiar with Rick’s works, such as Percy Jackson and Magnus Chase, you know how hilarious and downright fantastic his books are. I have read this book and have laughed so much tears came down my cheeks. I love it very much and I would definitely recommend it to you if you haven’t read it already.

7. Find a book written by an indigenous or native author. 

28260532

 

Tanya, Tania by Antara Ganguli

I am an Indian and the author of this book is Indian as well, so does that count as native? I am not sure. Anyway, this is a great book and it is set in Mumbai, India as well as Karachi, Pakistan. How much more diverse could you get? It does contain some events of the Bombay riots and a few other events that took place in Pakistan at the time. It is a very interesting read and I would recommend picking it up.

 

8. Find a book set in South Asia (Afghanistan, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka etc.)
51biiwjcubl-_sx324_bo1204203200_

A Crazy Kind of Love by Megha Rao

Since we are on an Indian book binge, let’s just continue. This is a book I recently read and had very mixed feelings and thoughts about. It is definitely set in India, that much I can say. You can click on the link above to check out my review for it to find out more about the book.

 

 

9.Find a book with a biracial protagonist.

43330

Master of The Game by Sidney Sheldon

Kate Blackwell, our protagonist, is half British and half South African technically. This book is thrilling, gripping and will leave you shocked. It certainly took me by surprise. I did not expect to like Sheldon’s work at all and now I am obsessed with it. I love to read his books and I could not recommend a better book. This book will drag you in so deep, you will never want to stop reading.

 

 

10. Find a book starring a transgender character or about transgender issues.

GEORGE_custom

 

George by Alex Gino

I cannot stress on how much I love and adore this book. Not only is this a book which I think everyone should read for the message and how adorable it is, but it also talks about coming out. That is a very hard and brave thing to do for children especially and this book is about a young boy, who is actually a girl inside. This book just melted my heart! You can read my review for it here.

 

WHO DO I TAG?

Stella @ Queen Bibliophile 

Marie @ Drizzle & Hurricane Books

Rae @ Bookmark Chronicles

I am incredible sorry if you have already done the tag, and also, feel free to ignore it if you don’t feel like doing it. It is completely up to you! Looking forward to reading your responses 🙂

All righty, guys! That is it for my post today and thank you so much for reading this! Tell me below if you have read any of these books, I look forward to reading your tag posts and I will have another post up soon so I will see you then! Goodbye!
Add me on GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/LaBookDreamer
Add me on Twitter: twitter.com/LaBookDreamer
For any Business related inquiries please email at: labookdreamer@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

