Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli: Review

Hey! Today I’m going to be reviewing and discussing my thoughts, emotions and feelings on Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda by the amazing and wonderful, Becky Albertalli and I swear to god, this book is a gift to us all.

Seriously, I am so in love with this book and almost every part of it.

This is a book which I would recommend everyone to read, for the information and message if not for the immense amount of happiness that it will give you. Trust me, it is not just a very fun read, it is also pretty monumental! 

Let me take you through the amount of tweets from me this book has inspired:

Ok so that was something

This book, if you don’t know, revolves around Simon who is not an openly gay teenager. When he is blackmailed and not only him, but his email buddy, Blue, is also in danger of being exposed, Simon must go through a couple of rough patches to meet his happy ending.

Now this book was very special to me. Not only because the protagonist is part of the LGBT community but also because it helped me accept a lot of things I wasn’t open to before. It made me happier than I had been in a long time. It made me crave Oreos (seriously, if you are reading this book, SIT WITH A PACK OF OREOS NEXT TO YOU).

The characters were very relatable and cute quirky, being teenagers and having 50,000 emotions at the same time along with having a shit ton of homework. Everyone of them had a unique personality and was fighting their own battle to become who they wanted to be. All of them shined so bright in their own way and this was also probably one of the only books where I fell in love with every character. This book is so beautiful.

The thing is, I fell in love with Simon. Not the omg- he- is- so- adorable love, but like love love. Like as much I would love Will Herondale or Rhysand. Sadly, I am not his type. I do still love him though.

This is a book where you are guessing with the main character about what is going to happen next, who is that person etc. Throughout the book, I was looking for little clues as to who Blue was and honestly speaking, I was pretty shocked when I found out who it was!

*SPOILERY*

When I found out that Bram was Blue, to say I was very shocked would be an understatement. I had my money on Martin. It is not that they were not cute together, I just didn’t see Simon and Bram together.

One of the only reasons I actually started shipping them hard was because I imagined them as a few of my friends and then they instantly became so cute together 🙂 Don’t get me wrong, I shipped Jacques and Blue so much, my heart hurt. I guess, I was just surprised.

*SOPILERS OVER*

Leah and Taylor are very interesting characters that I want to know so much more about! Leah with her kick- ass personality and Taylor with her mean but protective -ness. We are getting another novel from a Leah POV later on but it is so far awayyyy!

One of the things I loved a lot was Becky’s writing style. It was very friendly and welcoming in a way and rather than the story in the first chapter, I was actually reading it because I loved it so much. It was hard to believe this wad her debut novel and I was shook after reading it. If you just enjoy simple writing which makes you feel all warm and fuzzy on the inside, this is definitely the book for you!

5 out of 5 stars.

So basically, I loved this book.

A LOT.

Everyone should read it. Now. Go buy it. I’ll wait till you finish. We can fangirl together.

Okay, I’m gonna go eat an entire pack of oreos now.

All righty, guys! That is it for my post today and thank you so much for reading this! Tell me below if you plan on reading this book and I will have another post up soon so I will see you then! Goodbye!
Add me on GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/LaBookDreamer
Add me on Twitter: twitter.com/LaBookDreamer
For any Business related inquiries please email at: labookdreamer@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli: Review

  1. […] This book is just a feel good book. It makes you feel endless joy and leaves you on such a high. Just pure happiness. That is why every school kid should read it. We experience a lot of stress and expectations during our school year whether it is from drama or you know, actual schoolwork. This book I would just want you to read because you might feel low and just want a pick- me- up. And the fact that it is a coming of age, coming out novel is just a huge bonus! Check out my review for it here. […]

    Like

  2. Yes! I’m so glad to read this review. I have been waiting for this book from the library for about 3 months now, and my excitement has been waning. This is exactly what I needed to hear in order to revitalize my interest. I can’t wait for it to come in!

    Like

Leave a Reply

