Big Nate: Revenge of the Cream Puffs by Lincoln Peirce- Review

Hey guys! Today I am going to be reviewing a very quirky, fun book called Big Nate: Revenge of the Cream Puffs by Lincoln Peirce. This is a graphic novel series about a young boy, Nate, in middle school as he goes through middle school, encountering the many trials that a student faces, from losing in a baseball match to getting embarrassed by his dad. Lincoln adds a funny twist to every bit of the story, making the reader laugh out loud at every point, no matter what his or her age is. *I received an ARC of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review* 

I would just like to start off by saying that I do not have much experience with graphic novels unfortunately, I have recently started and I hope to continue because I AM LOVING THEM so far. They are so incredibly detailed and so much fun to read!

I absolutely adored the artwork in this book, it was simple and consistent, and it felt like I was watching an animated movie as I flipped through the pages. The drawings of the characters, the settings and even the speech bubbles were very cute, articulate and creative and I would not mind reading another book in this series just to look at the pictures!

FullSizeRender.jpg

This is a middle- grade book which I don’t read a lot of, but when I do, I enjoy it a lot. I recently “graduated” from middle school, so it was a lot of fun reading something that I could relate to. Nate goes through very common things in this book like, flunking a test, having ideas that he thinks could make him a millionaire, having verbal, very stupid battles with his best friends and facing his silly fear (of a cat). I could relate to this a lot because as stupid and silly as they sound, we all went through them, and because this author is quite clever to make it funny, it is even more enjoyable to read.

It is not quite a long book, you can probably finish it in about 20-30 minutes but is quite a lot of fun to read. It is is a quick break from dragons and soulmates of the YA world; a refresher of sorts. While you are in a book slump or a readathon, I would definitely recommend reading this book. It is quick, light hearted  and just a nice way to pass your time 🙂

The characters in this book were very funny and of all sorts, if I may add. All the middle school stereotypes are played very truthfully in this book and it is hilarious as they come together as a class! There is the nerd, the geek, the class clown, the topper, the fat kid, the sidekicks and the mean girl; bringing a book out of those characters, you know it is going to be funny.

I gave this book a 3 out of 5 stars because I really liked it but it was not all that extraordinary. It was short but it was a LOT of fun. One thing that I was not please about was that I had to read it on my laptop which I do not normally like to do. Other than that I do not think I had any complaints with it!

If you like Diary of a Wimpy Kid, I would definitely recommend this.

This book comes out of Sept 6, 2016 so mark the date on your calendars if you think this book might be up your alley! I look forward to reading more from this author in the near future!

All righty, guys! That is it for my post today and thank you so much for reading this! Tell me below if you are planing on reading it and if you have, which was your favorite part and I will have another post up soon so I will see you then! Goodbye!
Add me on GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/LaBookDreamer
Add me on Twitter: twitter.com/LaBookDreamer
For any Business related inquiries please email at: labookdreamer@gmail.com

One thought on “Big Nate: Revenge of the Cream Puffs by Lincoln Peirce- Review

Leave a Reply

