George by Alex Gino: Review

Hey guys! Today I will be reviewing George by Alex Gino and can I just say that I absolutely fell in love with this book! Even though I have only read two books so far this year… this is my favorite! This book is definitely one of my favorite books of all time but I just wanted to say that this book was freaking brilliant! Also, this review may contain a few spoilers!

The author so skillfully crafted the plot and the characters, in a way that it did not feel like a middle grade or children’s book; whatever age you are, it does not matter. This book is something that will affect all ages and make you laugh and cry and laugh again! I was hit by so many many feels while reading this, and for so much time after I finished it, I was just thinking about why I had not picked this book up earlier?!

This is a heartwarming tale about a boy  girl named George who is trapped inside the body of a boy. George thinks that she will never be able to tell anyone about her secret. Then her teacher announces that their class play is going to be Charlotte’s Web. George really, really, REALLY wants to play Charlotte. But the teacher says she can’t even try out for the part . . . because she’s a boy.  With the help of her best friend, Kelly, George comes up with a plan. Not just so she can be Charlotte — but so everyone can know who she is, once and for all.

The thing I loved most about this book were the characters. George herself was such a nice, small and such a brave girl who stood who for what she thought was right and knew what she was. I really like how this book was not about being gay or lesbian, but it was about being transgender. George knew she was a girl inside, but she was not sure whether she liked girls or boys. It was such a simple and plain book but the meaning behind it was so inspirational and powerful!

Then we have her best friend Kelly, who is absolutely the best friend you could ever ask for! She supports every idea of George’s and when she tells her that she wants to try out as Charlotte, she does not question him but she encourages him! Also, when George comes out to her, she handles it so well and agrees with everything she says! She supports her from all angles and likes her in the way that she is! She does not think it is weird but thinks it is unique and amazing! At the end, she gives up her own part in the play so that George can have the moment that she had been dreaming of! Also, when they visit the zoo, Kelly lets George borrow her clothes and make up so that George can finally enjoy and feel like a girl from the outside and inside!

I loved the family aspect of this book a lot as well! The brother was so supporting of her, and understood her so well when she told him! I really liked all the scenes with George and her brother! Her mother, on the other hand, did not take the news well! She did not appreciate the fact the George liked to look at girls’ magazines and imagine what it would be if George was really a girl on the outside too! But later, she realized that she should be there for George and not just neglect her! It was so sweet!

This book is one of the most important books I have ever read and I know that it is going to influence a lot of things in my life! This book should be required reading for everyone and everyone should understand the message that this book gives. This book made me cry so much, but it was mostly tears of joy and happiness! This book has found a special place in my heart and it is never going to let go! You should Be WHO YOU ARE!

Also, just a quick note. I am doing the COYER challenge this time round and this book counts because I read it on my e reader and it was a super cheap novella! I have a whole post about COYER and my announcement so you can check that out over here.

All righty, guys! That is it for my post today and thank you so much for reading this! Tell me below how exited you are for this book and which was your favourite part and I will have another post up soon so I will see you then! Goodbye!
Add me on GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/LaBookDreamer
Add me on Twitter: twitter.com/LaBookDreamer
For any Business related inquiries please email at: labookdreamer@gmail.com

5 thoughts on “George by Alex Gino: Review

  1. Omg I have only heard GOOD THINGS about this book and I desperately want to read it!! It sounds really sweet and heartwarming too, and I hope it has a good outcome?!?! I love kids books, but I prefer them with good endings. I KNOW I’M A WIMP. XD I’m going to make sure this is added on my goodreads….*dashes off*

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] This book is so close to my heart and so important to me. Even when I go to bookstores, I find this book and keep it front and center to more people see it, more people know about it. This book is about George. A boy on the outside, a girl on the inside. She knows she is a girl. She does not know how other people would react. Everyone should read this book, whether you are 5 or 15 or 50. It is beautiful and even if it is for children, in our world, in 2016, I think more adults need it than children. Check out my review for this book here. […]

    Like

  3. […] I cannot stress on how much I love and adore this book. Not only is this a book which I think everyone should read for the message and how adorable it is, but it also talks about coming out. That is a very hard and brave thing to do for children especially and this book is about a young boy, who is actually a girl inside. This book just melted my heart! You can read my review for it here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

