The Audiobook Problem…

Hey guys! Today I am going to be talking about The Audiobook Problem. I saw this post saying that Audiobooks have begun to outsell print and I got majorly concerned! This is not going to be a long post but I hope to get my message through.

Now, what my point is that, I don’t get why people are buying audiobooks more than print! The whole joy of reading comes from having a physical possession of a copy of the book and being able to hold and hug it when you are reading it. Also, which reader does not like smelling the pages of a new book?! I know, I do!

I am a little shocked by this post that I saw because Audio Books are such a new thing and they have become so popular over the last few years! Even though I like listening to audiobooks as they help you multitask and do whatever you want to while kind of reading a book. Trust me, I have nothing against them, I actually like listening to them and have a couple myself, but I think we are losing the real meaning of reading a book !

I feel so bad because first we were introduced to e books and now this. It is like we are losing everything to technology. I am not saying that is a bad thing but I do feel that it has gone just a bit overboard! First, all the parents used to be so proud that their kid was off the laptop and iPad and was READING! But now, we are either listening to the book being played through headphones attached to our phones or reading it on an e reader!

I do LOVE E readers because they give me a chance to buy a lot of books at a cheap rate! But now, there are some books which have HUGE audiobook sales! WOW! I cant even…. I just wanted to say that I feel like the world is slowly losing the actual feeling of  a floating sensation you get when you are reading a book! It is a magical experience, actually holding a book in your hand and stroking the pages softly while you read it! That magic is reducing and I, for one, am not ready to let go!

I adore giving my full attention to a book ad I know that when I give it my divided attention, I am not allowing the book to blow me away. I feel like we should all give every book a fair chance to be read instead of listened to!

These are strictly only my views on the topic and I would not like any of my thoughts to influence what you think! I respect all of your opinions and don’t ever let anyone change them!


All righty,guys! That is it for my post today… I hoped you enjoyed it, I hope you have a great day!  Comment down below your thoughts on this change in the book world and I will have another post up soon so I will see you then! Goodbye!

Add me on GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/LaBookDreamer

Add me on Twitter: twitter.com/LaBookDreamer

For any Business related inquiries please email at: labookdreamer@gmail.com

10 thoughts on “The Audiobook Problem…

  1. I love audiobooks. I think they are great for when I want to read but have to clean, or have a long car ride (And I get car sick when I read in the car), or falling asleep. I do always feel bad putting a book I actually listened to, under “read”, although I have a few justifications for it: 1. it takes way longer for me to listen to a book than to read it, so if I’m doubling my time spent on it, it’s getting “read” and 2. I have to pay way more attention to the audiobook because It’s easy for me to zone out. Plus, for me, they totally bring boring books to life. I plan on listening to a lot more “classics” than actually reading them. But I also think audiobooks are great for people who love books, but don’t like to read, especially those with learning disabilities and such. I feel like as long as you are accessing the story in some way, you’ve succeeded in becoming a reader! This was a really long comment! sorry!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Those are such good points! Thanks so much for sharing your perspective on this… and I do agree with you! It does make reading interesting! I do love audio books and listen to them myself and I do agree that it is an amazing opportunity for those who are unable to or don’t want to read! Thanks you so much for sharing your thoughts!

      Like

  2. I find it quite surprising that audio books are supposedly overtaking actual books. I hardly know anyone that prefers them and the bookshop I go to is always full of people happily browsing. I have issues with technology because I don’t like E-readers (plus they give me headaches) and I’ve never listened to an audio book, I just love collecting paperbacks too much 🙂 I don’t see it as an issue for others to use them though, as long as physical books still print too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I completely get you! Technology has indeed swallowed us whole. This isn’t entirely negative but we lost appreciation of the beauty of conventional life. Ebooks and audiobooks are convenient and less expensive but still, I prefer honoring the printed text. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

