Five Seven Five by C E Wilson: Review+ Discussion

Hey guys! Today I am going to be discussing and reviewing my thoughts, emotions and feels on Five Seven Five by C E Wilson which is the first book in a series called “The Boy With Words”. I received a free e-copy by the author in exchange for an honest review. All of my thoughts and opinions based on this book are all my own and not influenced by anything else…

I really enjoyed this book and was also quite bewildered at the concepts and the world but overall it topped my expectations! I gave it a 4 out of 5 stars! I really liked this book… I was a bit nervous going into this book and did not know what to expect as the synopsis did not give a lot away. This was a very short read and I finished it in just a day! This book is about a girl named White who is very curious about her own world and the creators of her world.  But as she learns, she has to wonder – is there such a thing as too much information? And what will happen as it brings her closer to a being who could destroy everything she’s ever known?

The ting that I most enjoyed about this book were the characters and how they were introduced and how the relationship between them developed! Some of the characters were really easy to relate too, but certain characters were just a little confusing to understand. I also really liked the setting of this book… It is kind of set in this world which sort of seems like the world in Divergent; it seems a little dystopian- ish. I would classify this book as sci-fi and fantasy with a romantic twist in it!

I really liked the way the character, White, was curious all the time and had a lot of questions and I also liked the way she sacrificed a lot of things to get to the answers that she wanted. I especially liked that she cared a lot about little things and got so frustrated and confused when she did not figure something out.

I have to say,I was a bit weird-ed out by the names… I mean, what ind of names are White, Shade, Copper, Salt and Pepper?! Thphoto.jpge main characters name is White Frost, I believe, and when I realized that her name was that, I was just perplexed! It was like naming your son North West (Could be Kanye West’s son) or Car Keys (could be Alicia Keys’ son). The only name that actually made sense was Kestrel!

I loved how the author intertwined our real world and the new world that she had made up and the way she described it all was so beautiful; the concept of the world and how it came to be kept surprising me throughout and I regiphy.gifally enjoyed her writing style and I thought that it was on point!

This book had a lot of haiku and poems and I really liked how the title
connects with the story because a haiku has five syllables in the first and third line but seven in the second.
Also, I really liked the cover and I liked that it was actually relevant to the book and not just a cover based on a pretty design.

So, that is it for the non- spoilery section so if you have not read this book… Read it and come back so we can discuss this all together! It is a super short read so go check it out! WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD!

All right, so lets go in chronological order! We first meet Shade who is White’s elder brother and I just can’t help but feel that he was super attractive and I loved the relationship that he had with his little cousin sister and how he was so protective of her and told all the boys to stay away from here! It was something so special and so fragile that even though we had only been introduced to him for a couple of pages, I was saddened by his death! I just missed him bringing more of those notes of poems to her!

Next, we meet White who has so many qualities to make the reader like her. She is so puzzled and confused and curious all the time and I love it. She likes to smell pages and while I was reading that part, I just wanted to give her a high five! I really liked her first exploration scene and how she wanted to cherish the picture of the blue sky and the grass! She has a lot of funny lines and I love her character a lot! There was this one part where she said “The Callie. Where is the Callie?” and she was referring to Kes’ dog and I burst out laughing because when I image
imagined her speaking like a little small girl scared of dogs I could not help myself. Also, there is this one part when she wanted a
ladybug for a pet which I thought was hilarious!

Later, we meet Salt and Pepper (again, these names are just too funny!). Pepper is kind of a very super perky girl and has extreme emotion disorder! She either gets too excited, or too sad, or too frightened! Nothing is average with this girl and for some reason, I could totally relate to that! Salt on the other hand, I did not like. I did not like the fact that he lied to White just because of his feelings  toward her and is only expressing himself in that way because Shade is now out of the way. He is one who creates this love triangle and threatens to report White’s every move for various reasons and he does not even give her the chance to reason or explain herself! Also, how did he find out that the bug with the red wings and the black spots was called a ladybug? There was no human there to tell him that! Suspicious…tumblr_m4u1l0C0e31rwcc6bo1_500.gif

Then we meet my favorite character in this book, Kes or Kestrel. He is described as this really attractive guy who comes in and discovers White and tries to talk to her like a normal human being! He is the one who helps us join the dots and figure out what the hell is going out with this small little world with the grey black sky! He is the one who makes White’s and my heart flutter and he makes her blush all the time. I really like him because he is so gentle with her and respects her personal space (mostly)! Sometimes, while I was reading this book, I felt like I was reading from Kes’ perspective because his character was detailed a lot and I loved that because he is the character who I related the most to!

I also had a few general thoughts that I would just like to throw in.

  1.  Why the hell are there curtains to enter rooms from and why are there no doors… that was something I could NOT understand!
  2. What is up with this Re- Education thing? It is supposed to brain wash you or something and it was mentioned in The Bloodlines series as well and I was really confused by the concept!
  3. There was a point in the story where White traveled from the girl’s sector to the boy’s sector and it was said that ‘the air changed from the smell of soap and fruit to blood and sweat’ and I maybe be a bit judgmental but I gotta say… it was a bit sexist!
  4. Why were there no animals in this small world?!
  5. This book reminded me a little of The Lego Movie where the character finds out at the end that he is just a toy that the kid and the father are playing with and there is a whole new world outside of the Lego world that he knows of…

The end was devastating! There is such a cliff h805574anger at the end and I just want to know right now what happens next! I hate Salt and I was so sad at the promise she made because I totally shipped White and Kes (Kite!)… I can’t wait to find out what happens next and I am really looking forward to the sequel!

All righty, guys! That is it for my post today… I hoped you enjoyed it, I hope you have a great day! Let me know down in the comments below about your experience reading it! I will have another post up soon so I will see you then! Goodbye!

Add me on GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/LaBookDreamer

Add me on Twitter: twitter.com/LaBookDreamer

For any Business related inquiries please email at: labookdreamer@gmail.com

 

2 thoughts on “Five Seven Five by C E Wilson: Review+ Discussion

Leave a Reply

