Winter by Marissa Meyer: Review+Discussion

Hey guys! Today I am going to be reviewing and discussing Winter by Marissa Meyer! I can’t believe it is over! I love this series so much and I cant bear to part with it! I had secretly been wishing that the last page would never arrive… My thoughts emotions and feels are all scattered right now!

This book was such an amazing and brilliant wrap up to the series and I loved it so much! 5 out of 5 stars! I just first want to say THANK YOU to Marissa Meyer for creating this wonderful, unforgettable series! There were points at which I was laughing out loud and points at which tears were streaming down my cheeks uncontrollably. I made the mistake of reading this in public at times and all the passers-by were just glancing my way nervously while I had my hysteric moments. Also, I picked the worst time to read this as my exams are right around the corner and I cant seem to get over my book hangover.

6247105

If you hadn’t realized by now, I thought this book was a brilliant piece of literature. I fell in love with characters which we were only introduced for a few pages, I felt what the readers felt and gasped so many times! It was one of the best books I have aver read! The writing style impressed me a lot and I really liked how Marissa juggled the POVs and handled them so well, letting us know what each character thinks about the situation, so that we get to know all the separate versions and perspectives. The plot was very engaging and intriguing and sometimes when the author threw us a curve ball I was literally breathing heavily, anticipating what was going to come next.

kjn

This is a very fast paced book and there are a lot of things going on at once, but it is quite long! It is a massive 800 page book! But it was so good, that even after those 800 pages, I am still craving for more. The romance and brightness in this book filled my heart with warmth and the Science Fiction elements surprised me and left me breathless. You wont believe the number of times  my parents told me to stop biting my nails (which is a thing I don’t normally do!), just because I was worried for my little babies to go into battle. There was so much character development and I felt so proud at the progress that they had made even though I had nothing to do with it.The themes were very vibrant too!

That is it for the non-spoilery part, so those of you who have not read this book, go read it! If you are not encouraged already by my inspiring rambling above, read it again! If you have not read Cinder, which is the first book in this series, what are you even doing with your life?! Go read it! I am warning you, THERE ARE SPOILERS AHEAD! 

tumblr_ms7gvq1iqF1sxv3djo1_500.gif

Lets talk about the ships in this book, shall we?! Lets kick off with Kai and Cinder. This is my favorite relationship in the entire series and that opinion has never changed since the first book (though, Cress and Thorne are a close second!) Kinder Forever! Their relationship has so many twists and turns in this book… I mean, he gets married to Levana who is Cinder’s aunt! Shit just got weird… Also, she almost died a lot of times and he had so many political problems!!! But even with so many complications, they made it through together! Relationship goals, man! Their love is heart warming and hes inspired so many and even with their differences they came together! That is true love and also, was I the only one who melted at Kai’s marriage proposal at the end?!

805574

Next is Captain Carswell Thorne and Cress… where do I even begin with this one?! I did not get why they were totally oblivious to each others feelings at the start. They are so cute together and the intensity between them is just crushing. I think I speak for all the readers when I say, I fell in love with Thorne. With his witty quips, hot looks, intense eyes, heroic deeds and captain quality, we all wish that he would sweep us off of our feet too! I love the way he gets all worked up when they get separated from Cress and how he indirectly says “I love you”! They are just the cutest!

I like Wolf and scarlet as much as I like Jacin and Winter together! They make such good couples! There was that scene when Wolf had his reunion with Scarlet and my heart was beating a million time a second and I was getting attacked by all the feels and then it was said “His tumultuous eyes scooped over her. Devoured her” My heart had melted by that point!  Will you stop creating such perfect boys that will make us dissapointed in real life guys, Marissa Meyer?! Also, how cute are Iko and Kinney together, huh?! I ship, submarine, raft, sail, yacht and ferry it! I would love for that to happen! I love Kinney as much as Jacin or Wolf!

baby-reading-book

Sometimes, I just did not understand Levana! I mean, she should understand Winter’s feelings towards Jacin because when she was young she had the same reaction towards Everet and she MARRIED him… so why is Winter not allowed to marry a guard. Levana out of all should understand! Also, it is said that there are surveillance cameras everywhere in the castle and everything gets recorded, so how is Levana’s real face never seen by the tech gurus who work with the cameras?! Is she wearing that thrice- damned veil ALL the time?! On another note, I loved how Meyer incorporated all the characters from the previous book and how we also got a chapter from Pearl’s point of view… Ingenious!

Now, I loved this book so much and got so deep that I was constantly surprised at the Snow White elements and I was so happy as they came at the right moments and they went so well with the story!  I also loved how she concluded this series with a “Happily Ever After”! It was an amazing touch! I loved this book a lot and I could ramble about it for hours at end but I am just going to stop now because whoever is still reading this is surely bored by now! I am crushed at this ending but at least we still have Stars Above to look forward to! Why is this series ending?!

854

All righty, guys! That is it for my post today… I hoped you enjoyed it, I hope you have a great day! Let me know down in the comments below about your experience reading it! I will have another post up soon so I will see you then! Goodbye!

Add me on GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/LaBookDreamer

Add me on Twitter: twitter.com/LaBookDreamer

For any Business related inquiries please email at: labookdreamer@gmail.com

3 thoughts on “Winter by Marissa Meyer: Review+Discussion

  1. […] Winter by Marissa Meyer                                                                                             This book was such an amazing and brilliant wrap up to the series and I loved it so much! 5 out of 5 stars! I just first want to say THANK YOU to Marissa Meyer for creating this wonderful, unforgettable series! There were points at which I was laughing out loud and points at which tears were streaming down my cheeks uncontrollably. I made the mistake of reading this in public at times and all the passers-by were just glancing my way nervously while I had my hysteric moments. Also, I picked the worst time to read this as my exams are right around the corner and I cant seem to get over my book hangover. Check out my full review here. […]

    Like

  2. I just finished Winter and I LOVED IT. I thought it was amazing, and while I am sad it is over, I am glad that I got to read it. I also Love Cinder and Kai, they have been my otp from the beginning. I am glad to see you enjoyed it just as much as I did!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

