The Golden Lily by Richelle Mead: Review+Discussion

Hey guys! Today I am going to let you know my thoughts, feels and emotions on The Golden Lily by Richelle Mead which is the second book in the Bloodlines series which is a spin off to the Vampire Academy series. In short, I am going to be reviewing and discussing this book. So exciting!!!

Title: The Golden Lily

Author: Richelle Mead

Series Status: The 2nd book in a spin off series

Publisher:  Penguin Group

Number of Pages: 418

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!

Synopsis (Off of GoodReads) :                                                                                     When a shocking secret threatens to tear the vampire world apart, Sydney’s loyalties are suddenly tested more than ever before. She wonders how she’s supposed to strike a balance between the principles and dogmas she’s been taught, and what her instincts are now telling her.
Should she trust the Alchemists – or her heart?

Review:

Okay, so…. I ABSOLUTELY loved this sequel! Usually as you see in series the sequel goes for a toss but this sequel was amazing! We got so much more information on the Alchemist’s world and how they work, we got so much romance in this one too! I did not really like the ending and was a bit disappointed in Sydney. Nonetheless, I could see her logical reasoning behind what she did. Everything  was at quite a nice pace and I really enjoyed it!

This book was also quite scary at times though! I mean, I respect their world but sometimes things were just downright crazy! There are so many concepts which you don’t really know about in this book and as the story progresses, we are supposed to pick up the clues that the author skillfully leaves. I love how Mead syncs and links everything and suddenly out of the blue the whole book and all its components are intertwined together to form the climax. And can you guess what the climax leads to? That’s right, EVEN MORE QUESTIONS! I mean, there are not so many cliff hangers  but each story slowly takes us forward and drives you crazy until you pick up the next book! I liked how much character development there was in all of them in just two books!

I am a little worried about what is going to happen later. I am scared for Sydney for a thousand different reasons! Also, I am just realizing now that she is quite the superhero. She can literally do everything in just one day. She can drop and pick up people to and from, she can do her alchemist duties, she can do a little spy work, she can dress gorgeously, she can finish off all her homework, stay at the top of her class, manage a complicated relationship, become a part time witch, try to rebel and support everyone around her without going crazy! I cannot really relate to that!

I really like how much she tries to help everyone and make them comfortable! I feel so happy and I dread the time when they all have to go back to wherever they came from and split apart! I have made such amazing bonds with these characters who I have only spent two books with.

Also, I love the description and setting of the book! It just sounds so amazing, I feel like living there! I am slowly getting obsessed with this series and it is slowly creeping its way up my favorites list! But, I just have to say, I hate the cover! I was not fine with the Vampire Academy cover and I am not fine with this one! Humans on the cover just don’t work for me! Overall I loved it!

All righty, guys! That is it for my post today… I hoped you enjoyed it, I hope you have a great day! Let me know down in the comments below about your experience reading it! I will have another post up soon so I will see you then! Goodbye!

Add me on GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/LaBookDreamer

Add me on Twitter: twitter.com/LaBookDreamer

For any Business related inquiries please email at: labookdreamer@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

