Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon Updates!

Hey Guys! Today I am going to be telling you about my journey of surviving my first readathon ever! Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon has been a roller coaster of a ride!!

I am having so much fun, reading and participating in most of the mini challenges so far! I would recommend participating in this readathon as it not only helps you read more and have a lot of fun, but it also helps you connect with other book lovers across the world! And… It is only for 24 hours (on a weekend!) so it wont even take up much of your time! Anybody can participate whatsoever is their age! So lets get on with the Updates(!!!!!) :

HOUR 1                                                                                                                                                                                           I was sleeping… I had decided to take a short nap before the readathon started but due to my alarm not going off… I did not wake up! I read 0 pages in the first hour! The only thing I did was SLEEP! I am going to do the introduction survey now!

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?                                                                                                        I am reading from India and according to a few surveys taken “People in India are the world’s biggest readers, spending an average 10.7 hours a week.”

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?                                                                                           I am most looking forward to reading The Penultimate Peril if only because I borrowed this book from my school library a month ago and haven’t returned it yet!

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?                                                                                                                 Anything crunchy is fine by me!

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!                                                                                                                           My name is Loreva and I like to consider myself as a ‘BookDreamer’. This means that I not only love to read books but it also says that I day and night dream about them too! I usually tend to lean toward YA! My other hobbies are singing, eating and irritating my elder sister!

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?                                                                                                                        This is my first readathon and I am most looking forward to the mini challenges because I do not know what to expect and I am hoping that it will be a lot of fun!

HOUR 2                                                                                                                                                                                           Same as the first hour! I cant believe I missed 2 hours out of 24! I am doing the mini challenge for you guys now though!

HOUR 3                                                                                                                                                                                       Finally woke up and realizing the time… Started Reading! I mean, I joined in pretty late but I was still going to fight my way through! Started reading Fearless by Tawdra Kandle and I am 22% into it (Kindle is refusing to show my page number). Did not do the mini challenge as I don’t like taking a selfie but If I had wanted to I would have taken it with Legend by Marie Lu! So far So good!

HOUR 4                                                                                                                                                                                       You might think I would have some hard core reading going on but noooo! I ditched Fearless as it was just going around in circles and driving me bonkers! I started reading The Favorite by Kiera Cass and had some crunchy stuff and hydrated myself! Did not do the mini Challenge! (hey, you gotta skip a few!)

HOUR 5                                                                                                                                                                                       Done with The Favorite and i decide to take a break (I now realize that I have been taking too many of those!) I also have to go to the gym as part of my daily routine and I really want to just skip it but my mom wont hear of it! I take my iPad down with me and read while on the treadmill! ( I totally pulled it off!) Did both of mini Challenges and enjoyed them! Also, at the end started reading Valentine Princess by Meg cabot.

The Ugly cover Pitch entry: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead does not have one of the better covers! The whole humans thing does not work on book covers according to me and the cover nowhere near captured the awesomeness of the action packed content! I know we should not judge the book by its cover but I did put this one off for a while due to the cover! Now, this is one of my favorite books due to the amazing, brilliant and stunning storyline!!!

Goodreads Road Trip Challenge:                                                                                                                                     Dear Loki,
WE ARE HAVING A BLAST! Magnus and I are road tripping across LA and we have no intentions of coming anytime soon… you might want to stop visiting his dreams so that we can have a little bit of fun. We know you would rather be with us than have poison thrown at you but… we get what we get! We are having the best of crunchy stuff over here and so NOT missing you! HA HA! My BFF and I are just about to go to Disney world where we will meet up with Annabeth! Toodles!
PS : Magnus says Hi!
Loreva
The book that this is inspired from is Magnus Chase and The Sword of Summer. (Not done with this book yet, so there are no spoilers in this)

HOUR 6                                                                                                                                                                                         Finished Valentine Princess and took a really long break and procrastinated and did the mini challenge! (I should really start controlling my amount of breaks!) Here is my Mini Challenge:

Top Ten Things you Need in order to Survive a Readathon:
1. Books! (Trust me, you will need these!)
2. Hot Chocolate! (A K A Heaven)
3. Fluffy Pillows!
4. Something CRUNCHY!!!
5. Something Caffeinated!
6. Pajamas (They need to be SUPER comfy!)
7. A schedule (I am so NOT organised)
8. E Reader/ Laptop/ Phone
9. Background Music
10. A will to read! (If you don’t have this then you wont be needing any of the materials above)

HOUR 7                                                                                                                                                                                       I am typing this right now in Hour 7 and have been doing this since it started! Gotta get readin! Already did the mini challenge but for now, THE SWORD OF SUMMER by Rick Riordan summons me! Read a little bit on my laptop!

HOUR 8                                                                                                                                                                                       It is about 1 am in the morning and i am 36% done with The Sword of Summer… and my father is leaving on a business trip! I am probably going to sleep in the next few minutes but lets just read a few more pages of Fearless!

For my mini challenge: I choose Harry Potter as I really want to travel to London even though I just went there like a few months ago! But most importantly, I want to go to HOGWARTS School of Witchcraft and Wizardry!

HOUR 9 to 15                                                                                                                                                                                      I am sleeping! Seriously, I slept till 8 o clock in the morning and started chit chatting with my mom before realizing how much of reading i had to do! Started Lemony Snicket’s The Penultimate Peril! I am just going to do the mini challenges for all the hours that I missed: (!!!)

Hour 9- Book Scavenger Hunt List (Magnus Chase and the Sword of summer )                                                                 1.  Something Hard Magnus’ new muscles! (They are rock hard)                                                                                            2.  Something fast  The crow which is actually  a troll!                                                                                                              3.  Something Sweet Magnus and Annabeth as small kids!                                                                                                      4.  Something high The bridge which he fell from…                                                                                                                  5.  Something funny Magnus’ brilliant sarcasm (on fleek!)

Hour 10-  I would totally link the Graveyard Book with The Graveyard book the Graphic Novel for this one!

Hour 11-

thumbsup                                                                             Yes to Pumpkin Spice!

Hour 12- Mid-Event Survey:

1. What are you reading right now?                                                                                                                                        I am not reading anything right now in Hour 12, because I am sleeping. I am filling this survey after I wake up in Hour 15! Thanks for asking though!
2. How many books have you read so far?                                                                                                                            I am so proud to announce that I have finished 2 whole books! (well, both of them were novellas)
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?                                                 MORE MINI CHALLENGES AND READING!!! Yayyyyy!
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?                                                                                  Whenever some work got in my way, I would take the book with me… May it be lunch or cardiac exercise!
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?                                                                                                 How many Book Lovers there are out there in the world and how nice and motivating they are!

Hour 13- Recommendation train:

My favorite book so far is The Favorite by Kiera Cass and I recommend Asylum to a person who was reading Miss Peregrines home for Peculiar Children!

Hour 14- I do not want to do this mini challenge for certain reasons!

Hour 15-

“If no one cares about burritos at all, do YOU even really exist?”

― Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Prince (I LOVE MEXICAN!!!!)

HOUR 16                                                                                                                                                                                       I am annoying my mother to no end and am also reading! I am such a multitasker! I need to eat! I seriously did not understand this mini challenge so I am not even going to try to attempt it!

HOUR 17                                                                                                                                                                                     Just Keep Readin’! Just Keep Readin’! Just Keep Readin’! Just Keep Readin’! Just Keep Readin’!  And I had some cereal and milk! Gotta get my head in the book! The Goodreads challenge was so hard so I only did one!

HOUR 18                                                                                                                                                                                      Doing some Blackout Poetry! Never done this before but I guess it was worth a shot! (Hey, dont laugh!) Also, almost done with the Penultimate peril and going on to continuing The Sword Of Summer!

HOUR 19                                                                                                                                                                                      I am just gonna be reading for the next few hours so only going to be posting the mini Challenges! I did the challenge for this hour but I cant seem to find it!

HOUR 20

HOUR 21                                                                                                                                                                                     EEEhhhhhh…. Did not do the mini Challenge but I read quite a lot!

HOUR 22                                                                                                                                                                                      Finished The Penultimate Peril by Lemony Snicket!!! Finally! 3 books done!

I chose this title because Redrum backwards spells Murder and since there was no need for murder this book would not be a scary boooooook!

HOUR 23                                                                                                                                                                                     I would like any fort ever I don’t care what color or size! I do mind the smell though… It has to be SUPER pleasant! Also,

HOUR 24                                                                                                                                                                                     Its the end! OH MY GOD! Lets do the survey and read till the end!!!!!!

Which hour was most daunting for you?                                                                                                                                     All the hours in which I was sleeping were the hardest for me because I WAS NOT READING THEN!!!!
Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?                                        I do not have particular books in mind but I would recommend targeting novellas or graphic novels as they are easier to finish, take a book out of your TBR pile and also give you a sense of accomplishment!
Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?                                                                          I would suggest dedicating a full blog post to the prize winners as people wont check all the prize winners and if they are one all the time! Oohh and also make sure that all the links work!
What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?                                                                                               Motivating all the readers, and managing the time of posting all the hourly blog posts and also just getting us through these past 24 hours! Thanks and Good Job!
How many books did you read?                                                                                                                                                  I read a total of 4 books which I am SUPER SUPER proud of!
What were the names of the books you read?                                                                                                                            I read The Favorite by Kiera Cass, Valentine Princess by Meg cabot, The Penultimate Peril by Lemont Snicket and 1/2 of both Fearless by Tawdra Kandle and The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan!
Which book did you enjoy most?                                                                                                                                                 I think I enjoyed The Penultimate Peril by Lemont Snicket the best as it felt so nice to read about young kids rather than YA for some time! It was a nice break!
Which did you enjoy least?                                                                                                                                                          I least enjoyed the time zone gaps because everyone was reading while I was sleeping and vice versa!
How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?                            I am definitely going to participate next time and I am really looking forward to it! I will probably be a reader next time too!

OH MY GOD!!!! Its over! I cant believe it! I loved it soo soo much! All righty, guys! That is it for my post today… I hoped you enjoyed it, I hope you have a great day! Let me know down in the comments below about your experience in the readathon and also you can suggest a book for next year if you want to! I will have another post up soon so I will see you then! Goodbye!

Add me on GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/LaBookDreamer

Add me on Twitter: twitter.com/LaBookDreamer

For any Buisness related inquiries please emaill at:labookdreamer@gmail.com

One thought on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon Updates!

Leave a Reply

